Author Topic: Player's bug  (Read 1296 times)

Aurelien Knaub

Player's bug
« on: January 23, 2017, 03:27:47 am »
Hi everybody,

I have been using Blubrry podcast plugin for about 6 months.
It seemed to work perfectly a couple of months ago.

Readers of my blog started to tell me that it was impossible for them to listen to the podcast on my blog.
Some said it was impossible from iTunes as well.
Some said they could not read it on their iPhone.

They can see the player, but it does not play anything.

The problem is I tested it on several computers / phones, and it has always worked perfectly for me.
So I have now quiet a few people telling me it is not working for them, but wordpress is up to date and so is Blubrry.

One reader told me:
"I think some players have the same problem: there is no file attached. It says "0.0kb" ".

I know it is pretty vague, but I don't know how I could me more precise.

Any suggestion ?

Thanks,

Aurelien

Shawn Thorpe

• Administrator
Re: Player's bug
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 12:26:45 pm »
Please post a link to a page where you're having trouble with the player so we can take a look at what's going on.

Aurelien Knaub

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2017, 07:39:34 am »

Shawn Thorpe

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2017, 01:48:14 pm »
In both of those examples, the media file link goes to a 404 page. So, either the media file URL you entered into PowerPress is wrong or there's a problem with the server hosting the media. When you added the media file URLs to PowerPress, did you click the Verify URL button? If so, did PowerPress verify the media or did you get an error message?

Aurelien Knaub

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2017, 11:08:45 am »
Yes, I always click "verify URL" but I never have a confirmation message, nor an error message.

Also, I have read somewhere that when you click "Verify URL" PowerPress is supposed to show you the length of the audio file.
It never did it for me, no length is shown.