Author Topic: iTunes problem -- sort of  (Read 2038 times)

Berney J Wilkinson

iTunes problem -- sort of
« on: April 08, 2016, 03:04:10 pm »
OK. This is my first time posting here. I started podcasting last year and was doing well. I added a second podcast in November, and again, I had both feeds working well. They were independently posting to iTunes as well as my website. All was well.

Earlier this week, I was trying to figure out how to add an rss feed icon to my blog. Not really sure what I am doing - I am a psychologist, not an IT guru - I found some information about using Feedburner just for the blog - Not for the podcasts. It seemed to work well initially, but I then noticed that all of my podcasts disappeared. In fact, the podcast was not even listed on iTunes anymore. Assuming that the Feedburner was the issue, I disabled it and returned everything back to normal. As hoped, my podcasts all returned to iTunes.

Today, however, I have a new issue. When I go to a the podcasts app on an iTunes account that is subscribed to the podcasts, everything looks normal. However, on accounts where they had not yet subscribed to the podcasts, one podcast is not listed and the other only has one episode listed (the one from last week).

This makes no sense to me. Why is it showing up on accounts that were subscribed, but not on ones that are not yet subscribed? Moreover, when those that are not subscribed click to subscribe, the other episodes do not populate.

Is anyone else experiencing this? Did I totally mess things up by trying to put the rss feed on my blog?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Berney J Wilkinson

Re: iTunes problem -- sort of
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2016, 04:13:17 pm »
I just figured something else out. I can see all of my episodes (including ones that are not downloaded on my phone) when I go to "My Podcasts." I can even download and play them from that tab.

However, if I use the search feature to find the podcasts, they are not there.