Author Topic: Dilemma! Recreating WP Site, But Offline...And How PowerPress Figures In It All  (Read 877 times)

velanche

Hello There:
I've read through similar topics, but not sure if this one is buried deep within the forums, so I thought I might as well write it out here.

I have a web site that I've been running since 2005 at velanche.com, home of my radio show. It's gone through a few iterations, and I had eventually replaced PodPress with PowerPress. Right now, there are two categories that I have it linked to: Playtime, my current show, and my old radio show, which I have archived under the category "podcasts."

Some of the inner core of WP has been a mess for a long time; for instance, I'm unable to test out themes privately. So I want to not only swap to a new design based on the Twenty Thirteen theme (and make a child theme out of that), but I want to gut out as much of the old as possible and replace it fresh.

What I've done was to set up MAMP on my Mac. Afterwards, I've exported from my hosted site, then imported the content to the MAMPified site I've set up. When go through my playlists,  what isn't there are the PowerPress links, which makes sense.

But what doesn't make sense to me is this: when I'm done with the design that I'm created on the MAMP version of the site, and then replace the WP on my hosted site with it, how can I do it in a way where I can re-establish the PP links to the pages I exported out of it and into MAMP? I hope you are following the dots, because I'm confusing myself!