Author Topic: Are podcasts preloading on mobile, and therefore adding "hits" in statistics?  (Read 4779 times)

danielschulzjackson

I just started using your statistics (I have been using your podcasting for several months.)

When I checked in on our stats, it appeared as if the amount of podcast listens were 90% of the amount of pageviews. Which is just not very realistic, I don't think...

AND

My bandwidth had increased accordingly... making it seem as if it really was real, but then I realized this:

98-99% of viewership was appearing in your statistics as being mobile, and only 1% chrome, despite the fact that chrome is ~15% of our traffic.

So it seems that what is happening is that the podcasts are preloading in mobile, and therefore registering as 'hits' in statistics. Both of these are bad; wasted bandwidth, obscured statistics.

Help?

danielschulzjackson

Also my number of listens (675) are eerily close to the number of mobile browser pageviews (775), but not to the total pageviews (1000)...

hence my hypothesis that it's preloading on mobile.

angelo

• CIO, RawVoice
  • Administrator
Both Android and iOS do not pre-load audio/video in the HTML5 native players. If you are using a special player (not one in PowerPress) then there may be pre-loading happening. Otherwise no.

page views and web statistics is a completely different matrix. Learn more: http://create.blubrry.com/manual/statistics-analytics-measuring-performance/media-podcast-statistics-vs-web-statistics/

Remember, someone who visits your web site is most likely not going to watch/listen to your media. (look at the average time someone spends on your web pages to confirm this)

Someone who listens to your podcast on iTunes or Android using an app such as BeyondPod is most likely not going to visit your web site. They are subscribed to your podcast at this point, and are going to consume your podcast directly to their podcasting app, they don't open the browser to revisit.