Author Topic: Adding Podcasts Programmatically  (Read 4478 times)

machouinard

Adding Podcasts Programmatically
« on: May 10, 2012, 01:37:16 pm »
Hello.  I've been doing some work for a not-for-profit and they would like to start publishing their podcasts.  Looks like PowerPress will work perfectly for this.  Is there a way to programmatically add the .mp3 files to posts?  There are dozens of .mp3 files to deal with and I'd prefer to not do them manually, one at a time.  I'm rather new to WP and am investigating using the API to add posts, but was wondering how to add the data for PowerPress to the post. 

A nudge in the right direction would be terrific.  PHP, Linux CLI, anything.

Thanks,
Mark

angelo

• CIO, RawVoice
  • Administrator
Re: Adding Podcasts Programmatically
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 10:12:49 am »
Is the media URL already in the blog post content? If so, you can after the fact use the Blogger/Movable Type Import Episodes tool under PowerPress > Tools menu. Essentially blogger/movable type store the podcast as a URL link in the post content, so if it's there already then you're all set to import with one click. IF you have multiple media files in a post, the import tool will also let you map episodes to specific podcast channels, and it will populate the file size and duration information if you select the right checkbox.

machouinard

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 04:54:19 am »